Rep. Simmons Appointed to House Select Transportation Committee

August 26, 2015

By Rep. Ron Simmons

AUSTIN – Texas House Speaker Joe Straus named Representative Ron Simmons (Carrollton) and eight other legislators to the House Select Committee on Transportation Planning on Tuesday.

“Representative Simmons has been an effective voice on transportation issues from the moment he arrived in the Legislature,” Speaker Straus said. “By authoring House Bill 20, he brought needed reforms to the way the state funds and prioritizes road projects. This appointment will allow him to continue providing leadership on one of the most important issues facing this state.”
The committee, created pursuant to a provision from HB 20 filed by Representative Simmons during the recent 84th Legislative Session and signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott, will review and evaluate transportation revenue projections, funding categories and project selection criteria, rules for project prioritization, methods of financing, and performance evaluation metrics and measurement tools.

“It is an honor to serve the people of Texas on this committee,” said Simmons upon hearing of his appointment to the Select Committee. “As the primary author of House Bill 20, I am eager to continue the discussion on how to address Texas’ growing congestion and connectivity issues while ensuring the funding and prioritization for transportation projects are administered in an objective, transparent manner with accountability for every dollar spent.”

Rep. Joe Pickett of El Paso will chair the committee, which will also include Reps. Larry Phillips of Sherman, Armando “Mando” Martinez of Weslaco, Lyle Larson of San Antonio, Paul Workman of Austin, Debbie Riddle of Houston, Armando Walle of Houston, and James White of Hillister.

After gathering testimony, the committee will report its findings and recommendations to the Legislature not later than November 1, 2016.


Connect With Us